Home / Faculty Staff / Staff Profile

Staff Profile


Position: Executive Dean

PhD Uppsala, BSc Zambia, Dip. PRET, Cert. in Applied Meteorology.

Email: dumisani.john.hlatywayo@nust.ac.zw

Resident Department: Applied Physics


Dr. Dumisani John Hlatywayo


Dr. Dumisani John Hlatywayo is the Acting Pro-Vice Chancellor responsible for Academic matters (December 2015 - to  date) at the National University of Science & Technology. He is the substantive Executive Dean of the Faculty of Applied Sciences (2014 to date). He holds a BSc. Degree in Physics (UNZA), a PRET Diploma (London), Cert. in Applied Meteorology (Met. Office College) and a PhD Degree in Geophysics (Uppsala). Dr Hlatywayo joined NUST in 1998 as a lecturer in the Department of Applied Physics. He has served NUST as Senior Lecturer and Chairman of the Department of Applied Physics (1999 - 2010), as Acting Dean of the Faculty of Applied Sciences (2010 - 2014), and as the Executive Dean of the Faculty of Applied Sciences (2014 -to date). He has been a member of the NUST Academic Board (2004 - to date), University Senate (1999 - to date), University Council (2004- to date), and several other Committees of the University. During the period he was Departmental Chairman, his leadership saw the Applied Physics Departmental Board introduce MSc programmes in Lasers & Applied Optics (2003), Geophysics(2003), Medical Physics(2003), Radiography(2010), and two Undergraduate programmes; i.e. BSc(Honours) Degree in Radiography(2002) and BSc(Special Honours) Degree in Radiography(2010). He has also served as an External Examiner for Geophysics to University of Venda (South Africa) (2010-present), and Physics to Bindura University of Science Education, Zimbabwe.

Prior to joining NUST, Dr Hlatywayo worked at Zimuto Secondary School as a Mathematics lecturer (1977), at Mount Silinda as Mathematics and Physics teacher (1978-1979) and as the Headmaster of Mount Silinda High School (1980 - 1981). In 1982, he joined the Zimbabwe Meteorological Services (Ministry of Transport) as a Meteorologist. He was deployed at Thornhill Airbase as Meteorological Aviation Weather Forecaster (1982 -1983) and was transferred to Bulawayo Airport Meteorological  Office (Aviation Weather Forecaster) (1983 - 1987). In 1988 he took up the post of Senior Seismologist and Chief Meteorological Officer in Matebeleland in the Zimbabwe Meteorological Services Department and soon served  the Zimbabwe Meteorological Services as Officer-in–charge at Goetz Observatory and Principal Seismologist& Chief Meteorological Officer in Matebeleland(1987-1997).

Exploration Geophysics, Groundwater Investigations, Seismotectonics, seismic hazard analysis and mitigation, mining induced seismicity. He has supervised several students at MSc in Geophysics, MPhil, and PhD, as well BSc Honours undergraduate students carrying out Honours Degree theses in the Department of Applied Physics.

Research Awards
In 2002, Dr Hlatywayo won a research Grant of USD 42000.00. The money was used for equipment acquisition to capacity build the Department of Applied Physics in Geophysics.An MSc Geophysics student benefitted from the grant as he carried out his MSc project leading to his MSc thesis which was on crafting a simple seismic acquisition system. Further funding of equal amounts was received consecutively in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 - 2016. The monies has been used primarily to capacity build the department of Applied Physics by acquiring geophysical exploration equipment. The Department is currently well equipped to offer programmes in earth sciences and exploration geophysics.


Dr. D.J Hlatywayo has served in several boards, committees and organisations. He is a member of the NUST University Council, Academic Board, Teaching & Learning Board, Planning & Resource Allocation Committee, NUST Student Affairs Committee, NUST Applied Sciences Higher Degrees Committee, NUST ICT Senate Committee, Academic & Non-academic Staff Appointment Boards,  Academic & Non-academic Staff promotions Committees, NUST Space Allocation Committee, NUST Time Table Committee,SUAS Workshops mainly held to plan for university administrative business including development of the NUST Strategic plan.

Outside the confines of NUST, Dr. Hlatywayo has been a member of the Organising Committee & Sub-committees of the Zimbabwe International Scientific Symposia, the Zimbabwe National Nanotechnology Coordinating Committee(NNCC), Zimbabwe IUGG National Committee (Seismology)(1995-2003), Sub-Saharan Africa Global Earthquake Model(GEM) ESARSWG Coordinator(2010-2013), American Geophysical Union(AGU) Member and Zimbabwe National IUGG Committee (IASPEI Rep.), the Eastern & Southern Africa Regional Seismological  Working Group (ESARSWG) as a Committee Member(1995-2002), ESARSWG Chairman(2008-present). From 2008 to 2011, he presided over a triennial USD 700 000.00 International Science Programs Research Grant (Sweden). Between 2012 and 2016, the ESARSWG has enjoyed three grants in excess of USD60 000.00. The money has been used in geophysical work in networking seismology through workshops producing shared seismic data and capacity building of scientists and technicians, and, geophysical exploration field campaigns in Malawi and Tanzania.

Click Here to View Publications

Workshops & Conferences
Click Here to View Workshops & Conferences Attended